PDA

View Full Version : Heavy strings and weber Fern ?

Iron
Feb-25-2014, 11:14am
I want to try a few differnt sets of strings on my Weber Fern, do you think a set of heavy strings would cause any problems ?

Bill Baldridge
Feb-25-2014, 11:21am
Have you asked Weber?

sgarrity
Feb-25-2014, 11:25am
The answer is no they won't cause any problems.

FLATROCK HILL
Feb-25-2014, 11:30am
I've been running J-75s on my Weber Fern for six months or so. No issues and they sound a little fuller to my ears than the J-74s.
Another Cafe member likes DR MD-11s on his Fern. They are also heavier strings than the D'Addario J-74s I believe. Have yet to try them myself, but they will be my next set.

Cheryl Watson
Feb-25-2014, 11:37am
Yes, as far as being structurally damaging, best to ask the source, Weber, but also the heavier strings could overdrive the top and kill the tone. I've had this happen with mandolins and guitars and I had to go back to lighter gauge strings. I don't know of any "heavy" mandolin strings, but there are J75s that are medium-heavy.

Iron
Feb-25-2014, 11:57am
I'm thinking the DR 12's are the heaviest I've seen and what I want to try, I guess I could email Bruce just thought the cafe folks had some experience with these and would clue me in, I don't think they would hurt but....................

sgarrity
Feb-25-2014, 1:03pm
Those DR 12's are heavy. I can't imagine my left hand liking anything heavier than J-75's. And Cheryl is right, you can over load the top and kill the tone. Each Mando is different. You just have to experiment and see what works best. I'm looking forward to the D'Addario Thile set. .40 and .26 on the bass and .16 and .115 on the treble.

Iron
Feb-25-2014, 1:20pm
Have you asked Weber?

Just got an answer from Bruce Weber and he said they outa be fine.

Iron
Feb-25-2014, 1:21pm