PDA

View Full Version : kettler mandolins?

mandoh
Jan-24-2004, 11:27pm
ive been playing a kettler for about two years and know very little about it. i have also never seen another one for sale. if they all sound like#0158 i may never.
tell me what you can.
thanks

Fuzzyway
Jan-25-2004, 12:01am
Personally don't know a thing about them, but I did find a listing on the web.

Kettler Mandolins
Rd. 1, Box 136
East Calais, VT 05650

Fuzzy

Skip Kelley
Jan-25-2004, 5:32pm
I owned one for a couple of years. It was a tone monster! I think that is why you rarely see one for sale.

jim simpson
Jan-25-2004, 7:00pm
A good friend of mine has one. It too is a tone monster. He recently had the neck trued and refretted at Mandolin Bros. I guess the repairman had never played one and admitted to playing it for a couple of hours after finishing the work on it. I have tried to get it off of his hands but no deal. These mandos were usually stained a plain finish with a sharp fingerboard extension. The maker has not made these for quite a number of years.

mandoh
Jan-25-2004, 10:37pm
mine is dark brown all over and lightens just barely gold where the yellow would be in a burst. also, the f holes are very petit and close to the edges of the soundboard. ill try to get a digital camera and get some pics up. wait till you see the torch. ill make an attempt tomorrow but cant promise anything

Frank Russell
Jan-26-2004, 10:40am
A fellow here in Southern California named Peter Feldmann plays one, a sort of natural-colored Kettler, and it is to my ear the sweetest, loudest mandolin I've ever heard in person. I tried to hunt one down last year, but they are hard to find. Frank

mandoJeremy
Jan-26-2004, 12:51pm