PDA

View Full Version : pyramid flat wound strings

Mike Thomas
Jun-10-2009, 6:36pm
Anyone have any experience with Pyramid Gold Pure Nickel Flat Wound Mandolin strings? I'm currently using Thomastick starks, but I'm curious about these.

Thanks,
MikeT

John McGann
Jun-11-2009, 5:34am
Haven't tried the mando strings, but the electric guitar strings are a total revelation-they sound nothing like the dull, rubbery US made flatwounds- they have a great character on attack, and actually sustain not unlike roundwounds, but have that smooth feel; they also last forever between string changes without going dead (and again, they don't start dead like most flats)- now I'm curious!

Phil Goodson
Jun-11-2009, 6:21am
Okay. I just stimulated the dadburn economy!
Will report later.

Barb Friedland
Jun-11-2009, 6:34am
I'm intrigued too. I'd love to hear a review that compares these against the JazzMando flat wounds.

Rob Gerety
Jun-12-2009, 6:16am
A little off topic perhaps - but I am new to mando (old acoustic guitar player). What is the attraction of flat wound strings? I remember them from my teenage years and electric guitar. How to they sound on a mando compared to normal wound strings? Is there a particular style or genre that they are best for or are they seen as general purpose strings? Should I give them a try?

onassis
Jun-12-2009, 7:45am
Rob, flatwounds are generally considered more of a "jazz" string than a "grass" string. They have less cutting power and high treble overtones (at least IMHO) than roundwounds, and also less percieved volume, which is one reason you won't find many dedicated 'grassers playing them. On the plus side, they have a beautiful, "round" tone that's great for solo and small group stuff, and they're MUCH easier on the fingers! Great smooth feel. Hope this helps!

Perry
Jun-12-2009, 7:52am
Slightly off topic.....

FYI The Pyramid regular (non flatwound strings) for electric guitar are absolutely fantastic as well