PDA

View Full Version : Origin of "Noodling Around"

Carolie
Jul-09-2009, 11:05pm
I'd never heard the expression "noodling around" until I started playing mandolin. I found the definition on the slang dictionary online. It wasn't in my Oxford Unabridged.

I know what it means. Does anybody know how the expression got started and when?

Carolyn

I know. I need to spend more time practicing and less time wondering about such things.:)

man dough nollij
Jul-09-2009, 11:18pm
I'm not sure about the origin of the term. I posted this thread (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48991&highlight=mindless+noodling) a while back about noodling, and some really cool discussion ensued. Some real heavy hitter players and instructors weighed in on the topic.

John Flynn
Jul-09-2009, 11:20pm
Here's what I know or was able to find out:

I first heard the term not related to music. It meant thinking something through, or "using your noodle." The American slang term "using your noodle" has been around since at least the 1930's with that meaning. "Noodle" in this usage is possibly an Americanization of the British word "noddle," which originally referred to the back of the head, specifically that bump on the back of the head, but it later got generalized in common usage to mean the whole head, or even the brain.

mrmando
Jul-10-2009, 1:14am