• New Music - Mr Sun Plays Duke Ellington's Nutcracker Suite

    Mr Sun Plays Duke Ellington's Nutcracker Suite

    Mr Sun has announced a December 1 release for their new project, Mr Sun Plays Duke Ellington's Nutcracker Suite on Adhy‚ropa Records, available for pre-order from their Bandcamp website.

    On this new recording, the quartet of Darol Anger, fiddle; Joe Walsh, mandolin; Grant Gordy, guitar and Aidan O'Donnell, bass reinterpret the legendary Ellington/Strayhorn Nutcracker Suite, bringing this monumental reimagining of the iconic Tchaikovsky piece into the acoustic string band world.

    Tchaikovskyís Nutcracker Suite contains some of the most beloved and familiar melodies in the Western world. Mr Sun has seized upon the inspiration of Duke Ellingtonís brilliant, sly, and urbane re-interpretation of Tchaikovsky's Suite, recorded in 1960 to universal acclaim.

    Mr Sun took the opportunity to salute and re-invent this wildly multi-faceted work anew through the lens of the American String Band, a musical format which encompasses myriad styles and is engaged in a marathon upheaval of innovation and expansion. In Mr Sun's new reading, the pieces of the Suite range from close interpretations of Billy Strayhornís original charts to intense extrapolations based on the spirit of the material.


    From the recording, the first single release, "Pea Shooter Parade."

    Track Listing

    • Overture
    • Pea Shooter Parade (March)
    • Reedy Rootin Tootin Pipey Gripey Waltz (Dance Of The Reed-Pipes)
    • Yangtze Dawdle (Danse Chinoise)
    • Sugared Rum? Spare Me! (Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy)
    • Entr'acte
    • Shovasky's Transmogrifatron (Ballet Snow Scene)
    • (Don't) Walk On The Flowers (Waltz Of The Flowers)
    • 100% Arabica (Arabian Dance)
    • Russian Fox Chase (Trepak)

    Mr Sun will premiere the work at the Freshgrass Festival at Mass/MOCA in September of 2023, concurrent with the release of the recording. The Project was generously underwritten by the Freshgrass Foundation.

    Additional Information

    Comments 8 Comments
    1. A-board's Avatar
      A-board -
      Canít wait to see this as live performance. Watching these brilliant musicians interact as they play is always a treat.
    1. CES's Avatar
      CES -
      Oh, WOW!!
    1. Paul Statman's Avatar
      Paul Statman -
    1. Mike Marshall's Avatar
      Mike Marshall -
      There goes my brother in sound again!
      Thanks guys. Beautifully done
    1. John Soper's Avatar
      John Soper -
      Spectacular! Can't wait for the full release.
    1. tuhker's Avatar
      tuhker -
    1. Jim Garber's Avatar
      Jim Garber -
      Wonderful virtuosic playing!
    1. Drew Egerton's Avatar
      Drew Egerton -
      I really cannot get enough of Mr Sun and Joe K Walsh lately. This is killer! Can't wait for the vinyl to arrive!