View RSS Feed

Notes from the Field

The shape of the past

Rate this Entry
The aesthetics are important. Certainly aesthetics are secondary to tone and playability and build quality. But, even within those limits we do need to consider shape of the instrument.

A lot of what is important to me about music is its connections to past music. And the aesthetic connection helps with that. I can more easily see myself as a part of something gigantic with a long history and legacy if my instrument is either old, or looks similar enough to what was used "back in the day."

I am not talking as much about technical innovations that solved problems and made or enhanced manufacturability and playability. I appreciate technology and don't want to live without it. I have no desire to die at 40 of tooth decay. I am an engineer after all.

I am thinking more about the aesthetic design of things. Mandolins.

For me, even when I was a kid, I felt something deep and wonderful, a belonging, a meaningfulness, when taking my seat as the living extension of something vast and ancient. Finding my place within the tradition. And the shape of the instrument, and to see my own hands holding it, and holding it in a way that hands have held it for decades, centuries even - it really is a part of the feeling. To look down and see, actual visual confirmation, that I was partaking in something grand.

It becomes problematic when one sees aesthetic innovation as meaningless, shallow, as a lack of reverence, or worse, as admitting you can't "do it right". One can naively think it easy to do something different. Just look at what is being done and avoid it. Fishing for shad? Just hunt for rainbow trout and miss.

I know in my heart things aren't that simple. You cannot learn to fly by aiming for the ground and missing.