Hi Y'all, I'm still learning mandolin

1. Mark Gunter
    Mark Gunter
    Haven't posted much recently, but I'm still kicking and enjoying trying to learn to play the mandolin. Back when I got started, I posted progress videos here regularly, and participated in the TOTM when we got that rolling ...

Lately I've been focusing on learning blues mandolin, and thought I'd share a couple of videos.

The first one is showing some Blues licks I've been working on that are based off YouTube videos by Rich DelGrosso.

https://youtu.be/aRe6DohDaN8

The videos I've been learning from are these two:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzQlTR2inEw
    and
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqOA2P1OHZg
  2. Mark Gunter
    Mark Gunter
    And then there's this

The guitarist, Eddie Tatum, and I are a gigging duo, we play at a hamburger joint once a month.

In this video, we are attempting Gypsy Woman Blues after a few drinks in Eddie's yard. I played this tune and sang it & Eddie joined in and it was great, we had a blast, so he was determined we should record it.

Well, I set up the phone and we went for it, but the second time it didn't go as smoothly. Still it was fun, and we will soon actually settle on an arrangement and polish it up for the show.

Charlie McCoy's "Gypsy Woman Blues" brutalized by Eddie & me:

https://youtu.be/bxaAGHjw_bo

3. Sue Rieter
    Sue Rieter
    That sounds so fun! Love it!
    Now I want to learn the Blues
  4. Sherry Cadenhead
    Sherry Cadenhead
    Sue, you want to do it all! Go for it, girl!

Mark, I look forward to watching your videos this evening. I might even post the one of you and me!
  5. Mark Gunter
    Mark Gunter
    Playing blues is a lot of fun if you're into blues music, go for it Sue!

Hi Sherry, hope you are well. It was fun playing together that day.
  6. Sherry Cadenhead
    Sherry Cadenhead
    From 3 years ago. Thankfully, I've stopped that silly rocking.

7. HonketyHank
    HonketyHank