Breaking Bad Habits

1. HonketyHank
    HonketyHank
    Following video by Josh Turknett is an example of why I continue subscribing to his "Brainjo" emails and lessons, despite having sold my 5-string several years ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EM1bkr1pdP4

If the frequent jumps and chops in the video are bothersome, a computer generated transcript can be found here: https://www.brainjo.academy/brainjo-...k-a-bad-habit/

Being primarily self-taught in both banjo and mandolin, I have plenty of bad habits, so you can understand my interest.
  2. Sherry Cadenhead
    Sherry Cadenhead
    I suspect we all have bad habits - except maybe Louise.
  3. TTT
    TTT
    Trying not to start bad habits! Still working on posture - I think I’m twisting to look at my left hand and that’s bothering my back. I might try practicing while standing up for a while.
  4. Louise NM
    Louise NM
    Louise has plenty of bad habits!

Interesting article, Henry. Thanks for sharing it. When you discover a wrong note in a passage, for instance, think how many times you have played it incorrectly. How many times do you have to play it right to erase the old way from your muscle memory? More times than you played it wrong.

TTT, good approach. Something as fundamental as how you sit and how you hold the instrument is hell to try to change later on. Take the time to learn it right at first. Standing up seems to be exactly what Mr. Brainjo is talking about: change something else while you work on building the new habit.
  5. Sue Rieter
    Sue Rieter
    Many many more times, according to Brad Laird.
    One of the first tunes I learned was Arkansas Traveller. I've been playing a wrong note in the last phrase the whole time. Very hard to correct, especially when playing along with the backing track. I thought about just calling it improvisation and moving forward
  6. Stacey Morris
    Stacey Morris
    Thanks for the link, Henry.
  7. NDO
    NDO