moving up to advanced classes

1. icetea
    icetea
    Hi -- I started playing mandolin nine months ago. I've never had a music lesson or played an instrument before now. I've been taking the Beginning Mandolin course with Sharon Gilchrist at Peghead Nation and it's excellent. I'm at the point where I've learned the songs and played them many times but I cannot play at the speed in the play-along tracks. I thought as time went on I would be able to match the speed but it's not coming. Maybe it's because I'm over 60?
    I feel it's time to move on and I'd like to take the Irish Mandolin class but it's listed as Intermediate/Advanced so I'm wondering if is that taking on too much. Should I be sticking to more Beginning/Intermediate?
    Thanks for any advice.
  2. NDO
    NDO
    I can’t help on lessons advice since I’ve only ever taken one, but one hour’s worth, but imho 9 months is pretty early to be putting expectations on yourself to be meeting speed goals.
    My best advice is to pick a favorite song or two whether in or outside of your lessons, and learn to play it for yourself for pure enjoyment. This needs to be fun. And it’s inherently fun if you let it be.
  3. FredK
    FredK
    It's good to set goals but keep them attainable. I started out playing organ when I was around 8 years old. Got into guitar in my pre-teens. Played other instruments, as well, but didn't pick up the mandolin until 5 years ago. I took Mike Marshall's lessons on ArtistWorks for a year, then took Sharon's on Peghead for a year. That, along with practicing, was the best thing I could have done but getting up to speed was a challenge even with a musical background. There's a lot of us on the Cafe that started mandolin in their 50's, 60's and even 70's so getting up to speed is going to be even slower than someone starting in their teens and twenties.