Thread: Question about bridge placement

Default Question about bridge placement

I understood that the bridge was supposed to be installed at an equal distance from the 12th fret as the nut is to the same fret. I just noticed that mine is actually almost 0.5 inch closer to that fret than the distance from the nut.

I had taken it in months ago to have a shop check the stock nut as I thought it was having issues and they put a replacement nut on it....but I never really checked it this close. I am a beginner and still figuring this stuff out.

However, it did feel like I had less room to pick before hitting my fingerboard extension [going to get it scooped]...and finally decided to measure.

I am thinking about moving it back myself as a good exercise on bridge placement and getting the intonation correct...just thought I would ask the group for some advice and comments.

Default Re: Question about bridge placement

Check the intonation before you move it. It should be positioned approximately so that the 12th fret is 1/2 way between the nut and bridge. I will not be exact, but 1/2" does sound quite a bit off.
    Bill Snyder

Go to stewmac.com and search for their fret calculator. It will tell you the proper distance from nut to bridge. However, it will ask for the scale length and you might have to guess since your bridge has been moved. Chances are your scale length is 13 7/8. Try that and then check the distance on the first few frets to confirm.