Thread: Advice on a resonator mandolin

Smile Advice on a resonator mandolin

I am shopping for a resonator mandolin and would like some suggestions. I have been playing mandolin for many years (practically daily) and am fortunate to have a great one now so I'm pretty spoiled when it comes to tone, dynamics, playablity and intonation.

I have been shopping resonators on-line because you almost never see one to test drive. I would use this to play anything from bluegrass to swing, jazz or rockabilly and would like to have one I could jam with the horn players down here in New Orleans.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I have so far been looking at National, Regal, Dobro, Beltona and Commodium....Any and all qualified feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

Default Re: Advice on a resonator mandolin

I like my modern National Resophonic RM-1 because the sound is balanced and versatile, but it's pretty heavy and it doesn't really have that classic authentic National resonator tone. It could work very well for what you're doing though.

I own two, both from the 1930's: a National Triolian and a Dobro. They're very different instruments. The National is steel-bodied, larger, longer-scale, with the "biscuit bridge" resonator. It's extremely loud, with sort of a "snarl" in its voice. Its original tailpiece came apart, so it has a replacement. I use it for bluesy stuff mostly, though for a brief period I was using it in a klezmer band.

The Dobro is wood-bodied, smaller, softer; it has the "spider bridge" resonator construction. It has a lovely smooth "ring" in its sound, and is good for less aggressive musical styles. Like many of the pre-war Dobro instruments whose bodies were built by Regal, it's not particularly well-constructed, and it needed a neck re-set soon after I bought it.