Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: So HOW BAD is the Fender?

Question So HOW BAD is the Fender?

Hello! I am a beginner with about a $200 budget to buy a mandolin. The problem is, I told my husband before I did any research, and I think he's bought me the Fender starter kit (FM-100?) from the local music store (judging from the music store owner's response when I asked him if he could get Loar, Kentucky, or Rover mandolins).

In order to keep Christmas as peaceful as possible, the easy thing to do would be to not say anything, be delighted when I unwrap the Fender, and see how things go - if I want to pursue it, I could buy a nicer one later.

But, after reading some of the posts here, I am afraid the Fender will put me off of playing all together. Having said that, our local music store is very friendly with a great bunch of guys who are very helpful and could help me should I run into problems with it.

I'm not going to be playing in front of anyone but family (and possibly a troop of girl scouts), so as long as it sounds good, stays in tune, and isn't harder to play than any other mandolin, I would probably be fine. I play guitar (a little), so I am comfortable with a stringed instrument.

Opinions? Advice? I am really enjoying reading the forums. I have learned so much already!

Default Re: So HOW BAD is the Fender?

A couple years ago my first was an FM-100. I bought it used for $35. The biggest problem I had initially with it was the nut was cut to high. It was very painful to try to play. If I had Rob's ebook on self-mandolin setup back then I may have been able to manage a little longer than I did. But the sound was very metallic and there was basically no bass response whatsoever, save the sound of metal strings. Later with more experience I realized it wasn't even strummable as the bridge was bowed down in the middle.