Thread: String Height at the Nut

Default String Height at the Nut

Good day everyone. I new to the forum and have only posted a few questions. I have been working on my first project and I am near completion. It's not a new build from scratch but a fixer-upper project. I should be posting some pics soon!

I'd like some recommendations or preferences some may have for string height, above the fret, at the nut. I am in process of attempting to make a bone nut and would appreciate some info. I think I would prefer a low action. I'm not a real stringed instrument player. I'm a hacker I've never done anything like this before, although I have a copy of Dan Erlewine's video on nut making. He does mention string height at the nut, but I am not sure if the suggested heights would apply to Mandolin since his video is more directed toward acoustic & electric guitars.

Thanks in advance,
    Richard

2. The following members say thank you to psalmist35 for this post:

Default Re: String Height at the Nut

Your best resourse might be frank Ford at frets.com where stringed instrument adjustments are discussed quite thoroughly including nut adjustment, bridge adjustment and intonation, fret leveling, etc. are discussed quite thoroughly.
    If you adjust your nut for low action and want to eventually want to raise it you can simply elevate your nut using a paper shim under it and that will raise the nut the thickness of the paper.

Here's Frank Ford's article on nut adjustment:

http://frets.com/FretsPages/Musician...nutaction.html
    Bart McNeil

Quote Originally Posted by psalmist35 View Post
    He does mention string height at the nut, but I am not sure if the suggested heights would apply to Mandolin since his video is more directed toward acoustic & electric guitars.