Thread: Holding fingers too far away

Default Holding fingers too far away

I'm just learning but I know I am pulling my fingers too far away from the strings when I play and I know that will slow me down as I pick up speed/confidence. Does anyone have any tips or suggestions of something I should try. I try to concentrate on hand position but since I'm looking at the music instead of my hands I'm having trouble.

Thanks for answering another newbie question of mine.

Default Re: Holding fingers too far away

I had the same problem when I first started but thanks to a good mandolin player who suggested I try the following:

Use the four finger G chord position (which I couldn't do at the G position because of the long reach) but move down to A, or B flat or B and put just enough press on the strings to mute them. Use some sort of picking pattern such as down on the G, up on the D, down on the A, up on the E. Then reverse from E back to G. You should also experiment with your own patterns. While doing this try to keep all of the strings muted and yet not put enough pressure on them to make a clear note. This helped me in two ways, first it made me work at keeping my fingers curved and close to the fret board, secondly it helped me reduce my bad habit of pressing too hard on the fret board when making a note.

This didn't solve all my bad habits, but it helped me get started in the right direction. I'm still working on the too much pressure when playing in public and the nerves kick in.

Hope this is of some use? Have fun on the "mando journey" you've embarked upon - wish I had started mine many years earlier!
    1992 Flatiron F5 Master model
    2009 Weber A model Fern
    2011 Collings MT mandola
    1985 Flatiron 2M

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC

Just try slowing down to where you CAN pay attention to the height of your fretting fingers and still play the line smoothly.