Thread: Help identifying and any further info on this A style (w/ Pics)

Default Help identifying and any further info on this A style (w/ Pics)

Hi guys and girls!

Last week after digging around in my grandfather's garage/workshop/storage I found a Mandolin. Im a bass player and guitarist but was immediately fascinated in the idea of playing "Mando". So after some digging around on this website and others I've decided to get this old girl singing again.

I took it to a very knowledgable luthier buddy of mine here in Sydney, and he waxed lyrical about how it was built, he also had the idea that it was Pre WW2 built and while it needs some work, there was no reason why it couldn't be a good little unit!!

What we do know thus far:

Bakelite machineheads
    Brazilian Rosewood fingerboard
    (Maybe Brazilian) Rosewood back and sides
    Spruce top
    Hand Carved bracing
    Needs a bridge and scratch plate

Sooooo, anyone out there that can help with any information?? The research I've done on Barnes and Mullins has produced a lot of info on Mandolin Banjos, but not much that helped me specifically. Please peruse the below pics!! Thanks in advance gang!!

2. The following members say thank you to adge for this post:

Default Re: Help identifying and any further info on this A style (w/ Pic

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ray(T) For This Useful Post:

Not much info there on their instruments or who made them. I am not familiar with this brand at all.
    Visit www.fox-guitars.com - cool Gibson & Epiphone history and more. Vintage replacement mandolin pickguards

6. The following members say thank you to pfox14 for this post:

adge 

Some info here -- no doubt the OP has found this site about British makers:

BARNES & MULLINS