Thread: so, holding an A style makes me think i have a greased marble

Default so, holding an A style makes me think i have a greased marble

in my lap

honestly, there is a huge difference in how a F style seems to just sit there "classical style" with the points kinda balancing the whole act, and the new lady in the family just rolls all over the place.

I'm just a total beginner, taking the online artistworks classes and I love how Mike Marshall teaches, and the way he shows to hold the mandolin sitting suits me fine-I doubt i'll every stand to play-don't stand for any other instrument. so whats the secret with the A style, sitting, and playing-already know I must absolutely get a strap, that would help a huge bunch I'm sure..............and speaking of straps..............

I have an endpin, now whats the best place/way to attach to the A style(tie in front of the nut?) other suggestions?

and suggestions for a strap that fits good and supports well.

the A is a whole different world isn't it

d

Default Re: so, holding an A style makes me think i have a greased marble

Hi Daryl, sorry I don't know the secret because I've always done it, I've been playing A style for 40 years, always sitting and no strap.

Your strap options are a strap button added on the heal or thread a cord behind the nut.
    Last edited by trevor; Jan-24-2014 at 4:04am.
    Trevor
    Formerly of The Acoustic Music Co (TAMCO) Brighton England now retired.

Definitely use a strap even sitting down.It totally removes any possibility of the mandolin sliding off your lap.The best way to use one on an "A" style is this method,which seems to have become widely used. The strap fastens to the strap button at the tailpiece end,the other end has a cord which will loop around & fasten under the fingerboard extension,
    Ivan
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Collings - strap under fingerboard.jpg 
Views:	176 
Size:	388.2 KB 
ID:	113033

Name:	Planet Waves Mando.strap.jpg 
Views:	107