Thread: Noob question

Default Noob question

First time poster, but I've been lurking for a couple of months.

I started playing mandolin around last Thanksgiving. It's my first musical instrument, and so far I have just been muddling around trying to teach myself how to play (and have a blast doing it). Anyways I have a couple of questions I'd like to ask, and they might be stupid, but again I'm rather green here.

I'm currently trying to learn to play the Swallowtail jig using TablEdit, and I'm a little confused over this portion of the tab (below). Next to the 2 is a 3 written in a different font from everything else, and it has an arch going over the two numbers. What exactly does that mean?

Name:  music.gif
Views: 395
Size:  3.8 KB

And speaking of arches, what does an image of a chord with an arch going over it mean, as seen in the image below?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	invers.gif 
Views:	120 
Size:	3.2 KB 
ID:	113309

Thanks in advance for any help.

Default Re: Noob question

Its my understanding that the 3-2 is a pull-off. You put two fingers down on the same string, one finger on the 3rd fret, one finger on the 2nd fret and you pull the string with the 3rd finger, leaving the other finger down on the 2nd fret. The other question I believe is about barring two strings with one finger, in this case barring the 2nd and 4th string at the 4th fret using the 1 finger ( the pointer finger).

Distressed Model John Ritchhart's Avatar