Thread: Question about mandolin instructors

Default Question about mandolin instructors

I have been paying a dear fortune for a month for lessons from a guy who came highly recommended by several local sources. He is clearly a talented and experienced musician, but he is a violin/fiddle player primarily. He plays the mandolin, or knows how, but doesn't even own one.

I am new to playing music, so I am not sure if I am misinterpreting his approach, but I am starting to wonder if i have the right person.

So, first he has no mandolin curriculum or plan, and I hate feeling like there is no systematicity to what I am learning. He has taught me a few scales, tries to help me with technique, tries to get me to improv w/ him while he plays rhythm on his guitar ior fiddle (which makes me very uncomfortable, LoL), watches me play songs I learned mostly from my Mandolin for Dummies books, and has worked on a couple of other songs with me. This past week he began trying to teach my dumb right hand some strumming patterns. (wow, that is the most difficutl thing for me so far.)

But, he continually reiterates the mainly support role of the mandolin in bluegrass (which is not my goal for playing, actually), and I can't figure out if he is saying that because I am a beginner who should be striving for beginner type goals, or if he is not familiar with other things the mandolin can do.

I know it is hard to say without sitting in on the lessons.. I guess I am just curious if you guys think someone like this can offer me much more, or if it is best to for me to keep trying to learn by myself or maybe try some of the online lessons. It seems as if it would be ideal to learn from someone for whom the mandolin is a passion, perhaps their primary instrument, in which they were expert, and maybe that is why this guy and I are not connecting.
    Newbie player
    Pickin' and grimacing

2. The following members say thank you to MaggieMae for this post: