Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: I Had A Brush With Greatness

Professional Dreamer journeybear's Avatar
    Northeastern South Carolina, west of North Carolina
    Blog Entries

Default I Had A Brush With Greatness

... or so I was told. A cruise ship came into port a couple weeks ago, and I learned this was partly a bluegrass cruise. Among the performers were David Grisman, Steep Canyon Rangers (without Steve Martin), and Carolina Chocolate Drops. My day job is at a coffee kiosk right near the harbor, and businesses in this area are very dependent on cruise ships and the number and type of passengers they bring to town, so any information about anything out of the ordinary regarding these ships spreads through this little community pretty quickly. Naturally, hearing Dawg was this close was pretty exciting. Of course, he probably didn't disembark, or if he did, he didn't pass by me. If he had, I guess I would have let him check out my 1917 plain A pumpkin, if he promised to be careful with it.

But that's not what inspired me to post here. I had a gig that night with the seasonal Cajun-country-bluegrass band, starting at 6:00 PM, and the boat was in port later than usual, until 8:00. That means passengers had until 7:00 to board, so it would be possible for them to catch our first set. Naturally, the ones I met and invited decided to pass, the timing being a bit tight. But I heard from my band mates the following week that Rhonda Vincent had come to our gig. Imagine that - her listening to me play. I hope I was playing OK! I don't know if they were pulling my leg, as I think I'd recognize her even without being all dressed up, especially since the venue is really small. Also, she wasn't on the lineup. But still, I have to imagine ... what if?
    But that's just my opinion. I could be wrong. - Dennis Miller

Furthering Mandolin Consciousness