Thread: Helping hands, finger joints are keeping me away from the mando

Unhappy Helping hands, finger joints are keeping me away from the mando

Fellow Cafe Members -

I've been playing for a couple of years, in fact last year I finally upgraded my Eastman to a beautiful Breedlove KF. I've also built a mandolin this year, and am no stranger to getting a very nice low action.

Somehow though, in the last few months I've gradually become unable to play for more than just a few minutes at a time. The knuckles in the first and second finger (first and second knuckles that is) begin to swell and get hard to close. The pain continues until I have to stop and rest it, takes almost 24 hours before it feels normal again.

At first I stopped playing anything, of course I felt fine in 24hrs, but I was getting quite frustrated. So I went and pulled out the Tenor Banjo. Remarkably, I can play the Tenor Banjo for hours and hours with no pain. It's given me something to work on in lieu of the mandolin for sure, but I can't say I like the idea of joint pain in my thirties!

I believe it all coincided with my intense chop chord training regimen, however I'm not certain. I've been to doctors before for things like this and always seem to get one of the following:

Here's a prescription for XYZ anti-inflammatory

Stop doing that

Rest it for XXX days

Ice and rest it

Ice, heat, and rest it

You get the picture.

I'll going to keep resting it and only going to play the banjo for the time being, but wanted to know if anyone on here has experienced something similar and has any recommendations or suggestions.

I forgot to mention, I used to take lessons from Pete Martin, when asked he said my hand position looked good (via skype). So I don't think it's simple hand position...

Thanks!

Matt

I may be old but I'm ugly billhay4's Avatar

Default Re: Helping hands, finger joints are keeping me away from the man