Thread: The Loar LM-700-VS tuners...should I replace?

Default The Loar LM-700-VS tuners...should I replace?

Hi everyone! My first post to the forum...I tried searching, but I couldn't find an answer to my question, so I hope someone can help or offer advice. I just got The Loar LM-700-VS and I really like the tone and playability (I'm an old guitarist just learning Mando), but the tuners feel terrible. I believe they are Gotoh tuners. Three are incredibly hard to turn and two feel very loose. Should I replace the tuners or is there something I can do to "adjust" the tuners that are an issue? It's a brand new instrument directly from ML, so it hasn't been in a showroom getting any play. I saw Grover replacements on Stew Mac that I could use if they are an exact match. Does anyone know if this is so? I'd rather not have to do any drilling or modification.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!!!!

Ken

Default Re: The Loar LM-700-VS tuners...should I replace?

Hi Ken,

The tuners on the 700 are good quality, so I would stick with them and just do some adjustments. lube everything up with graphite (bicycle lubricant), and adjust the screw tension. If you swap tuners, I would expect to re-drill the plate holes at the very least. There are often issue with the bushings as well.
    Robert Fear
    http://www.folkmusician.com

"Education is when you read the fine print; experience is what you get when you don't.
    " - Pete Seeger

the strings wont pull the capstan backwards and cause the worm gear to turn backwards
    any more than you can make a stalled car go forward by pushing it sideways.
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

No... Gotoh makes an acceptable tuner. You are probably used to the feel of guitar style tuners with greater gear reduction. R/
    I love hanging out with mandolin nerds . . . . . Thanks peeps ...