Thread: Bluegrass In Upstate New York - Article

Professional Dreamer journeybear's Avatar
    Northeastern South Carolina, west of North Carolina
    Blog Entries

Default Bluegrass In Upstate New York - Article

Interesting article.

I know MY first major exposure to bluegrass was at Winterhawk, back in ... I forget.
    Last edited by journeybear; Aug-06-2014 at 11:51am.
    But that's just my opinion. I could be wrong. - Dennis Miller

Furthering Mandolin Consciousness

Finders Keepers, my duo with the astoundingly talented and versatile Patti Rothberg. Our EP is finally done, and available! PM me, while they last!

2. The following members say thank you to journeybear for this post:

Default Re: Bluegrass In Upstate New York - Article

I started playing bluegrass in Rochester in 1970, with a trio called the Flower City Ramblers. There was already another active group there, Blue Ridge Country Ramblers, who recently celebrated their 50th anniversary with at least one original member, banjoist Jerry Schneider.

Bristol Mountain Bluegrass also started playing at the Bristol Mountain ski resort around 1978, and is still active, with founder Don Springer assembling a new crew of musicians. Going west toward Buffalo, Creek Bend is another group with over 30 years of performing.