Thread: Question for Seasoned Ebay sellers

Default Question for Seasoned Ebay sellers

I have been selling on Ebay for almost 14 years and have over 450 positive feedback transactions. I sold a Schertler BASIK contact microphone and preamp the other week and the buyer claims the preamp was not included. This is very strange to me as I never even took it out of the case when I photographed for the auction. In short, I am sure it was included, but he claims otherwise. Even though I specified no returns, I told him I would refund his money if the unit was returned in the same condition, even if he just didn't like it. He has put in a claim with Ebay / Paypal and is returning the unit for a refund, presumably without the preamp. Maybe a less than honest UPS employee removed the preamp? I have no idea what happened, and basically just told the truth in my initial statement provided to Ebay arbitration. The buyer has around 105 positive feedbacks and I really do not have any reason to believe he is being dishonest. So here we have a case with two apparently honest sellers and a "he said / she said" situation. My gut feeling is that as Ebay offers a "100% money back guarantee" to all buyers regardless if the seller offers returns or not, that they will be less likely to rule in my favor. Does anyone have experience with a similar situation?

Sean

PS- I usually try to use the classified on this site first, but that does not always work out. This will likely be the last musical related item I sell on Ebay. I just read an article on a site called reverb.com that charges only 3.5% vs. Ebay's 10% and is dedicated to musical instruments only. It seems Ebay's monopoly on online auctions is starting to crumble ever so slowly. Has anyone used reverb.com with success?

Default Re: Question for Seasoned Ebay sellers