Thread: Absolute beginner looking for advice

the Foothills of the beautiful Berkshires (Western MA)

Default Absolute beginner looking for advice

So you've all probably seen this kind of post before. I want to learn to play an instrument and have for a lot of years. I have thought long and hard and find myself drawn to the mandolin more than any other instrument. Is it realistic to learn to play music on a mandolin? I have absolutely no music ability, though I have been an avid roots music lover for a long time. I'm committed to whatever it takes... assuming lessons and lots and lots and lots of practice. Suggestions for a bluegrass lover's first mandolin? Advice on this plan? Thank you in advance for any guidance provided. Peace, UberGinger

Default Re: Absolute beginner looking for advice

I just started taking mandolin lessons and so far I am finding it pretty easy to pick up (granted I have dabbled in guitar as well and have a bit of a musical background singing for a long time). I am by no means an expert though...I hardly read music and have only basic theory understanding. I think It is a great instrument to try for a first go at one. I cant help you too much with a good first mandolin as I just posted about that here: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...g-for-the-Buck good luck with it!

3. The following members say thank you to ianbarton for this post:

Take a look at this recent active thread: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...ement-Beginner

Your question has been answered many times here. Basic conclusion is to go for it, but find a decent instrument. That will cost you $300 or so. Used would be good, since you could sell at same price later when you want something better.

Welcome to the Cafe, you are in the right place indeed.
    Jammin' south of the river
    '20 Gibson A-2
    Stromberg-Voisinet Tenor Guitar
    Penny Whistle
    My albums: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/album.php?u=7616