Thread: Radio Tone mandolin complete overhaul

Smile Radio Tone mandolin complete overhaul

Hi there.
    I'm brand new to mandolins, and to this forum.
    I've just acquired a mandolin for free which is apparently a Radio Tone and had been sat in a loft for years. The middle aged woman who used to own it said it was her grandfathers so this is the only age guess for the instrument I have.
    As it's been sat in a loft, it's not in the best condition. I haven't yet had chance to have a full look at it, but it's going to be my Christmas break project.
    I know the bridge is currently detached and it has no strings.
    As a complete novice, could someone also tell me what else to look out for in repairing it, and some other hints and tips please? If anyone could tell me any more about this instrument as well then I'd also be grateful.

Thanks very much
    Stuart

Default Re: Radio Tone mandolin complete overhaul

Well, letting an experienced mandolin tech have a look at it is a good idea.

Most mandolins have moveable bridges, so if the strings are off the instrument the bridge will be loose too.

You need to check for obvious cracks and places where the glue joints may be coming apart, loose braces, rattling parts, loose inlays, make sure the tuners work, the frets are not loose, are level, the neck is still straight, the nut functional, clean it up, and choose an appropriate set of strings. Many old mandolins are ruined by using the heavy strings designed for Gibson-style archtop mandolins.

So it's either a Regal or a German-made model based on searches on this forum.

Post a picture, it could have been manufactured by one of a few companies. The bridge as David stated should be loose.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20141129-WA0001.jpg 
Views:	360 
Size:	74.1 KB 
ID:	127429