Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Some more Ellis vs Red Diamond F Questions

Default Some more Ellis vs Red Diamond F Questions

I've got my next mandolin narrowed down to these two builders. With that said, is the Red Diamond more suited towards the harder driving bluegrass stuff or is it a fairly versatile mandolin? The couple of Ellis I have played seemed to be pretty versatile mandolins. Looking for something that will be satisfying to play in a blue grass jam situation as well as playing in a single instrument environment. I'd be interested to hear your first hand experience for those of you that were torn between these two
    builders.

Thanks!

Registered User Atlanta Mando Mike's Avatar

Default Re: Some more Ellis vs Red Diamond F Questions

I'm no expert on this at all so take my opinion with a grain of salt. The few Red Diamond's that I have played have been very traditional/Loarish in tone. Heavy on the mid frequencies. The few Ellis F5's that I have played have been more modern sounding mandolins with bigger low end response and very smooth sounding. I believe they are both plenty versatile and in the end, its just about what you like. Both are very suitable for bluegrass or anything really. If you are buying used, try and play some side by side. If you are buying new, talk to each maker, tell them what you want, and see if they will tailor the instrument to your desired characteristics. You really are choosing between 2 first class luthiers and I don't believe you will go wrong with either.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Atlanta Mando Mike For This Useful Post:

I think Ellis are smoother and prettier sounding. The Red Diamond will blow your head off, very powerful and raw
    "When you learn an old time fiddle tune, you make a friend for life"

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to LongBlackVeil For This Useful Post:

Registered User Atlanta Mando Mike's Avatar