Thread: bouzouki magnetic pickup

Hello friends,

as you may known I'm playing greek bouzouki and beside that, I'm still studying at the technical univerzity..

these two facts made me to start thinking about "my own" custom made pickup.. I've also contacted RM.Pickups Company(the best pickup making company in the Czech Rep.) and they agreed to build a custom-pickup according to my ideas/plans..

Also I'd like to discuss, what "type sound" do you expect, when you buy some single-coil magnetic pickup for your bouzouki/octave mand? (Note: that pickup should be used on irish bouzouki/OM as well)

I think, that pickup for bouzouki/OM should provide clear, almost acoustic sound with extra mid tones and high output voltage. The pickup also should be "easy to mount", preferably to the neck, to avoid to making changes at the instrument's body..

I'm looking forward to your comments
    Happy new year to all musicians!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nakres_kopie.jpg 
Views:	436 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	732  

I would be most interested in such a pickup, particularly one that mounts at the neck.

Currently, I am using a Fishman Rare Earth magnetic pickup mounted in the oval hole of my Old Wave Octave and my Weber Bridger mandola with an endpin jack. I am quite happy with the sound, even the acoustic sound (despite the fact that the pickup extends pretty deep into the body).

I play it direct into a mixer or through a PA. Recently, I've been enjoying it best through my Victoria 5 watt tube amp (similar to an old Fender Champ).

I also have a Schertler (or however it's spelled) contact pickup/mic, but it's a pain to remove it every time I play another instrument. It's too expensive to have more than one and I don't really like the XLR wiring.

Any way, good luck with your pickup design and let us know if you get it built. If you can figure out a way to float it from the neck or from the inside of an oval hole, I'd give it try.