Thread: Bridging Mandolin to Fiddle

Default Bridging Mandolin to Fiddle

Good morning Cafe,
    I have been playing mandolin for a few years and am just now starting to really dive into scales and soloing. I am a multi-instrumentalist who primarily plays for fun but also with a group who plays country, some bluegrass, and southern rock and I currently play Piano, Resonator, Banjo, and Mandolin. After a recent trip to Wintergrass, I have caught the Fiddle bug and am considering picking it up. I have a few questions for mandolin players who have crossed over.

Did you find the crossover hard, or did you pick it up relatively quickly? From what I have read, the bowing is a challenge but I have a very experienced friend who can get me started.

Does your bluegrass mandolin soloing techniques and experience help you solo on fiddle?

And finally, is there a great place online to find used fiddles "with character". The violin world seems so formal and uptight, and I am looking for something fiddle specific where tone is king and dings and scratches are the norm. Thanks in advance.
    -Jake

Blog Entries

Default Re: Bridging Mandolin to Fiddle

I find learning the fiddle to be the hardest thing I have ever done.

Because I have been playing mandolin for a bunch of years I have heard many many fiddle players, and I know real well what good fiddle playing sounds like. And so I have little or no patience with myself. It just takes a lot of time, or it is taking me a lot of time, to play acceptably well, because I know what acceptably well is. I do not remember mandolin taking this long. But I also had the advantage back then of not really having heard a lot of mandolin, so I did not know how it was "supposed" to sound.

So here am considering learning fiddle, and I thought, oh cool, I already have the left hand, I am half way there. Well its less than 25% actually.