Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Band Practice

Exclamation

I've been playing with a gospel bluegrass group for a few months now. We have made some good progress, but lately we're starting to feel like we aren't getting as much out of our group practices as we could be.

Any good tips for gettin the most out of group sessions?

Like any successful meeting, have an agenda. a.) intro to xyz song. b.) harmony vocals on abc song. And so on. Make sure you accomplish something at each "meeting".

Then.......play the heck out of your instruments and have FUN............
    Bob

It is really helpful to be able to give people recordings and sheet music ahead of time and set a ground rule that everyone is expected to show up 100% ready to play each tune.

Every band has its own dynamics and its own ways of working. Having four or five people who all want to take the same approach to practice is hard enough! Getting a song 80% right is easy - it's the last 20% that is difficult and that takes the real hard work. I guess that's what makes the difference between most of us and them
    France Bluegrass Musique Association
    http://www.france-bluegrass.org

String-Bending Heretic mandocrucian's Avatar

Ah, the eternal debate over the pros/cons of the efficiency of dictatorship vs. the chaos of democracy!

My choice is a rotating benevolent dictatorship. If it your song, then you have the final say about the best way to perform/arrange it. When it's someone else's, they have the final say on how to screw it up as badly as possible.

NH
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Some days you eat the band, some days the band eats you!</span>

"but lately we're starting to feel like we aren't getting as much out of our group practices as we could be."

Jaded--can you be more specific about what you're not getting out of practice? Learning new tunes? Tightening up existing ones?