Thread: Interesting old mandolin and piano music book

Must. Keep. Practicing. Ben Cooper's Avatar

Default Interesting old mandolin and piano music book

don't remeber where I got this (it was long, looong before I started playing mandolin), but it seems good. Anyone seen this one before? If anyone is interested I will post pics of the pages. I don't read music well enough to play anything in here, but if people want to take a stab at some of the arrangements and post them it would be very cool to hear them.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	242 
Size:	145.8 KB 
ID:	131792
    Benjamin C
    Girouard A-5 #62
    Fender FM-100

"Writing about music is like dancing about architecture."

2. The following members say thank you to Ben Cooper for this post:

Default Re: Interesting old mandolin and piano music book

Hey Ben,

Thanks for posting this. It really is interesting. Could you please post a shot of the table of contents? I'd like to see what types of pieces it contains.

Thanks,

Bob

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	248 
Size:	69.2 KB 
ID:	131796
    Benjamin C
    Girouard A-5 #62
    Fender FM-100

Wow, Ben, this looks like a cool book. I'd be interested in seeing some of the pages as long as we're not violating any copyright laws. Anybody here want to chime in on whether that is an issue? What's the publication date? It looks pretty old.

Bob

I do not know the publication date as the cover is missing. No dates inside except for the occassional date of when a piece was written. I am going to guess that it is from the early to mid 1900's.
    Benjamin C
    Girouard A-5 #62
    Fender FM-100

I just did some more research and it may have been originally published in 1890. I have also seen modern reproductions which can be downloaded for free. So, as soon as I can get my scanner up and running I will post pics of the sheet music!
    Benjamin C
    Girouard A-5 #62
    Fender FM-100