Thread: Matt Flinner's Online Mandolin Course Review: Jazz/Swing

Registered User Matt Livingston's Avatar

Default Matt Flinner's Online Mandolin Course Review: Jazz/Swing

If anyone is considering online mandolin courses, here's my comments on Matt Flinner's online course on Jazz and Swing. I've been playing mandolin for more than 15 years mostly in a contradance band, mainly fiddle tunes (a variety of traditional styles and original tunes). If you don't feel like reading, just sign up! The course I took was great. If you want to learn more about it, keep reading.

I had been considering an online course. I liked the fact that it was a discrete 8-lessons over 10 weeks. Enough time to set aside to practice, knowing that with a 50 hour work week and family, it couldn't do it for more than a few months. I was also interested in the format - live video conferencing, some practice videos, some MP3 tracks to play along with, some written material, and student submission of MP3, which Matt would critiqe. I liked the mixed format.

In short, it was excellent. I put aside 10 weeks to work on some new things and it really paid off. I haven't played this much in several years and I learned a lot. The class material was challenging, but accessible. Between the videos and written materials, each week there was enough material and at varying levels, so that it would work for a wide range of student levels. Matt is a talented teacher and made it work.