Thread: Hi All

Default Hi All

Hi all I'm new to this forum My name is Steve, I'm new to the Mandolin. I repair and build guitar and bass amp's. I was at my local music store and played a Loar LM-600 it was dead past the 12 fret big hump on the neck what a disappointment. I don't care to support foreign made products in the first place.
    I ended up buying a Morris F5 I have not received it's still in transit looking forward to it.
    1. What hard shell case in the $200.00 range would you suggest.
    2. What would be a good upper end pickup. I have a FET on the input of my amps that will match the impendence of a transducer piezo pickup.

Best regards, Steve.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Hi All

The Hiscox case retails at about $260 here in Australia. It may be cheaper in the US. Excellent value for the price.

I use K and K twin spot pickups.
    The more I learn, the less I know.

Peter Jenner
    Blackheathen

Facebook

K&K Twin internal (~$70) and the JJB Electronics Prestige 220 (~$40) are basically the same thing.

Hiscox case Sells for $220 on MF.
    Steve Lavelle
    '93 Flatiron Performer F
    Customized Eastwood Mandocaster (8str)

Mandolin Dreams Unlimited MysTiK PiKn's Avatar

Several brands I once thought were made in USA - turns out, they were all made in China. I don't know Morris brand name, or where it's made. But from whatI have heard here, TheLoar, Eastman, Kentucky, JBovier, likely some others???? are all made in China. Generally, it seems that quality has increased a lot from the days in the 60's when the import invasion began. People learned. Now, many of them are sporting fine tone woods, solid spruce, solid flame maple - and some other interesting specs might come with - such as hand-carved, graduated, nitrocellulose lacquer - some, but not all. On some models, specs have changed = upgraded to solid from plywood - I've seen a couple like that, and at least one carries the same model number - do your research, is recommended.