Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Snark tuner

Default Snark tuner

Has anyone got any experience of the snark all instrument tuner? Thanks
    I had qwiktune and found it didn't work very well...

Default Re: Snark tuner

Hi Ionzi, there's a sizeable thread on snark tuners further down the page, which might be of interest. I've been using a Snark on guitar and Mando for around 2 years with no issues. Hope this helps,

John

Snarks are pretty popular, and for good reason. They work well, no muss, no fuss, and they don't cost much. I have several of them (SN-8 model) and think they're the best bang for the buck out there. They're accurate enough to get you on pitch, but of course you'll still have to dial in your double-courses by ear to get them perfect. They're easy to read and the batteries last a long time if you only turn them on when you're actually tuning up.

That said, they are kind of fragile if you're not careful with them. My wife broke the little plastic collar that holds the neck piece to the clip. So you have to be careful about twisting and bending the display, or cramming it in a case.

I've been using one for about two years and love it. If it acts weird in a group setting, make sure you have VIB picked instead of MIC. Also double checked that it is still on 440 once in a while as I have accidentally bumped it off before.

My only problem with mine is this: I recently had the little rubber cover come off of one side of the clamp. Not a problem the first time as I just slipped it back on....the next time however I noticed it was gone and nowhere to be found. I've been playing in a few different places to no telling where it might be now.

I am thinking if I can find another suitable common household material I could just glue it there but not sure what to use.
    Has anybody had this issue?
    Drew
    2020 Northfield 4th Gen F5
    2022 Northfield NFS-F5E
    2019 Northfield Flat Top Octave
    2021 Gold Tone Mando Cello