Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there an open F tuning, and if not.. Can anyone create one?

Default Is there an open F tuning, and if not.. Can anyone create one?

Ive been playing mandolin for about 5 months now. Year on guitar before that.. But i have to say i love the mandolin way more than my guitar, and i acutally know chords scales and all that in GDAE.. But i picked up a Johnson 100-MA the otherday for 30 bucks.. It holds tune, and ive been toying with GDGD and AEAE (Capo'd GDGD) And i have to say i really enjoy being a beginner again learning scales but this time armed with knowledge.

But really im also lazy... And my buddy has been killing me to learn a F chord.. And its so hard for me. Was hoping maybe an Open F would make it easier.. Then i could just figure out a G and D from that tuning.

Any help from anyone way more knowledgeable than me would be greatly appreciated :D

my main mandolin is a Savannah SA-100 if anyone is wondering. I want a solid body electric someday.. And maybe an octave.. But i like italian music (want a taterbug someday) , blues and been doing some bluegrass of course..

Love that Chop.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Is there an open F tuning, and if not.. Can anyone create one

I am not sure what you mean. In standard tuning I use the F chord on the left shown here.

http://www.mandolincafe.com/cgi-bin/.../ch.pl?chord=F

It is not a closed form chord, if that is what you mean.

I am not an orthodox chop chord player, so if I need to chop an F chord I will do an F double stop on the G and A string, a low A on the G string and an F on the A string, and not hit the other strings. It makes a woofish chop that is good enough for passing through an F chord. What is that 23XX.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

3. The following members say thank you to JeffD for this post: