Thread: chord trouble

Default chord trouble

I've been playing mando for a few months now, and I continue to struggle with chording. Not just transitions, but just forming many of the chord shapes to begin with. I do pretty well playing single note melodies. I have also studied some music theory and have learned how to read both tab and standard notation, but chords are proving to be extremely difficult for me. Any advice for practice exercises or anything I may be doing wrong, or any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: chord trouble

Just start with two finger chords and get used to playing along with them. You can progress to three finger chords and eventually the four finger chop chord. Heres one chart I found after a quick Google, there are lots more out there. Have fun learning and welcome to the Cafe.

http://www.tennesseesounds.com/Articles.asp?ID=252

3. The following members say thank you to bigskygirl for this post:

Quote Originally Posted by HeyCoolSong View Post
    I've been playing mando for a few months now, and I continue to struggle with chording. Not just transitions, but just forming many of the chord shapes to begin with.
    Can you be more specific about what the trouble is? Are you having trouble reaching the frets? Trouble arching over the other strings? Trouble holding the pressure for clean notes?

First thing I would look at is your left hand shape and position. How are you holding the mandolin neck when you are chording? Would it be possible to post a photo of your left hand on the neck in your usual position for, say, a two-finger G chord and D chord?

Are you fretting the chords with your fingertips and not the pads of your fingers?