Thread: tuners for my BANJOLIN

Question tuners for my BANJOLIN

Hi,
    I'm new to the mandolin world and have recently acquired a banjolin. Before learning how to play it, it needs a few things repaired; the bridge, the tuners and possibly the tailpiece. To cut cost on the repair I wanted to locate some of the items on my own. I was hoping some of you could help me in figuring out some questions I have on replacement parts.

First question is about the bridge. I have the option of a 1/2" bridge or a 3/4" bridge. My banjolin currently has a 1/2" bridge but does the 3/4" give it a better sound with more of an arch?

Second question: The tuners on my banjolin are approximately 10 1/2" in length with a squared off top and bottom and have 3 screw holes. All the mandolin tuners I have found have some fancy rounded top and bottom and have 5 screw holes. I'm afraid these may be too long for my banjolin head and I would like to avoid putting more holes in it if possible.

please take a look at the pictures provided and see if you can offer any words of wisdom! Thanks a ton guys I really appreciate all the help I can get. :) :) :)Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7706.jpg 
Views:	298 
Size:	87.0 KB 
ID:	137000

Default Re: tuners for my BANJOLIN

Ok so I have found that the Golden Age restoration tuners fit best now is there any similar to these that fit older style mandolins that are under $50. I'm really trying to cut costs just to get this up and running, i don't need anything fancy

Tuners are measured from the center of the post to the center of the next post. As long as the post centers are the same and the orientation of the gears are the same anything should fit that has the same post spacings. You may find that the posts are a little longer on what you buy. Is that bent tuner your only problem with the tuners?
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber