Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gypsy Jazz Advice

Default Gypsy Jazz Advice

Hey guys,

Rank mando beginner here, looking to re-start my learning after a brief hiatus. For the last few months, I've been really into Django and other hot club jazz. I'd really like to dip my toes into Django-style playing. Does anyone have any good sources for material for a mando AND jazz/swing beginner? The forum search yielded some very aged sources, so i was hoping you guys might have some fresh recommendations.

Thanks all,

Norm

Default Re: Gypsy Jazz Advice

Dix Bruce has a couple books out specifically on hot club mando picking. I've been using them for the past year myself.

There are at least a couple of GJ bands with mandolin; I recommend listening to Hot Club Sandwich, Harmonious Wail and Taarka.

http://www.musixnow.com/Dix%20bio.html

Scott posted some useful fakebook links in this Cafe blog post on June 8, 2015. I use these charts all the time.

For a good example of using the mandolin in a Gypsy Jazz context, I recommend Stephane Wrembel's "Gypsy Rumble" CD, which features David Grisman. You'll find several standards of the GJ repertoire, but more importantly you'll hear a different feel from the mandolin than you'll generally get from the GJ guitar player.

I had some classes with Don Stiernberg this past week and he refers to this as "stabbing" -- injecting the higher register of the mandolin chords, usually with upstrokes, into the band's overall rhythmic feel. GJ relies on the guitar's "la pompe" rhythm for its driving swing sound and the "stabbing" chord style is a good complement.

Of course, if it's only a few instruments, you'll have to "la pompe" for the other guy's solo. Can't leave him/her hangin' out there on a limb!