Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: calling all beginners

as i'm seeking some inspiration to learn a new song, i was wondering if any non-professional players would be interested in picking a tune that we all don't know and spending a few weeks to learn it together? maybe we could choose a TEF song off co-mando. learn it. record our own version once we are comfortable with it. then, somehow swap with each other to see each others take on the tune. thought it would be interesting to see how different or similar each plays the song and get some feedback and criticism on our own performance. not sure how we'd go about posting it to each other, but i'm sure there's a way without taking up any cafe space. any takers?

craig

Craig, you're a genius!! What a great idea!! It sounds like lots of fun! Do you have any suggestion for a tune? I'm not a real beginner but I'm close to it. At least I'm not a professional player.

Professional History Nerd John Zimm's Avatar

Count me in Craig. I am pretty well willing to learn anything. Just keep me posted.

-John.
    Ah! must --
    Designer Infinite --
    Ah! must thou char the wood 'ere thou canst limn with it ?
    --Francis Thompson

About the space, I have a new MSN group for my own mandolin recordings where we could put them. I'll see it it would work for the storage space.

I'm in. I don't know if I'd be able to do anything, but I'm in. What about a gospel number?
    It's "Appalachia," (Apple-at-chuh), like I'm gunna throw an apple atcha' if you correct me again.

Bluegrasstjej,

the MSN account sounds like a good idea. we could open up an account that we could all share and post at leisure. that way we wouldn't use up your space and we'd all be able to access it.

i'm up for learning anything, really, but here's a list of songs i was thinking about:

sally goodin
    arkansas traveler
    bonaparte's retreat
    fisher's hornpipe
    cherokee shuffle
    soldier's joy
    beaumont rag
    blackberry rag