Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: how long should i practice?

Default how long should i practice?

hi I have been playing the mandolin for about 3 months. I practice about a hour a day is this enough to get good.

Default Re: how long should i practice?

You'll probably get a lot of varying answers to this but I'd say practice as much as you can as long as you feel like it and enjoy it. Practice every day but only as long as it's enjoyable, if you begrudgingly force yourself to play you'll grow to resent your practice time and play less and less. As far as getting good well that's all personal perspective.I, by no means am good but I've gotten to a point in my playing where I don't irk myself to listen to myself and that in turn inspires me to pick up my mandolin whenever I get a chance which makes me happy and causes me to play/practice more. I'd also encourage you to find some simple songs that you enjoy playing. There's nothing more irksome than playing a tune over and over that you can't stand, no matter how simple and "helpful" it is.

Mediocre but OK with that Paul Busman's Avatar

Yeah, what Homer said. Remember, we call it "playing" the mandolin, not working it.
    I've rarely done any actual practicing but I've gotten good enough to play mandolin in a working Irish band. Just about the only time I practice in the usual sense is if I'm learning a new tune and there is a difficult passage. I'll spend time working on that passage really slowly and gradually bring it up to speed. Even then I don't do it for very long at one sitting. Mostly though, I just pick up the instrument when the mood strikes me and play tunes of all sorts.
    For wooden musical fun that doesn't involve strumming, check out:
    www.busmanwhistles.com
    Handcrafted pennywhistles in exotic hardwoods.

4. The following members say thank you to Paul Busman for this post: