Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How do I play faster?

Default How do I play faster?

How can I play faster?

Default Re: How do I play faster?

Use this recipe:

1. Play something only as fast as you can without making any mistakes
    2. Play it a little bit faster and see what passages cause you to make mistakes
    3. Play those error-prone passages over and over again first slowly then faster until you can play them correctly at the new faster speed
    4. Play everything together at the new faster speed until there are no mistakes
    5. Repeat everything again from step 2 until you are at your desired tempo

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jmp For This Useful Post:

I agree with JMP. One of the keys is to get the tunes down note for note slowly at first. The speed will come with repetition. Good luck.

I've been playing some tunes for more than 5 years and I still can't play fast. Are some people just not capable of it?

sbhikes, I wonder if you are asking a different question than what has been answered.

Some have a hard time playing tunes without mistakes, in which case it's about practicing correctly while building speed.

Others want to be able to play fast runs, but lack the picking speed and fretting/unfretting speed to do so. That hasn't been addressed yet.

If you want to build picking speed, it's time to put in effort on tremolo technique, using a metronome as an aid to even tempo. Different tremolo subdivisions and building metronome speeds will get your picking hand up to snuff.

The same thing needs to happen for your fretting hand. Working scales and patterns with slowly advancing speeds will get you accustomed to getting your fingers on and off the frets.

You'll also combine the fretting with the fast picking as you work different patterns (thirds, fourths, string skipping, etc.).

There are great books for violin for building velocity, and a lot of them are available for free download, like the Schradieck books.