Thread: Learning Resources Advice

Default Learning Resources Advice

Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I'm new to mandolin playing, but not to music. I've played guitar for 47 years or so, and used to play sax. Mostly I play bluegrass and swing, but I've played some classical too.

I'm looking for advice on recommended learning resources for a beginning player (if not a beginning musician). I'm considering some of the Homespun downloads (any in particular) and also courses at ArtistWorks and Peghead Nation. For the time being I will have to learn at home, so I won't have an opportunity to study with anyone one-on-one.

Eventually I'll most likely concentrate on bluegrass/Dawg stuff, but right now I'm looking to build a solid technique and learn chords. I would be grateful for any suggestions.

Default Re: Learning Resources Advice

Welcome and congratulations!

Looks like you're off to a great start in your thoughts on in-home lessons.

One invaluable resource, brought up countless time here, is Don Julin's Mandolin for Dummies. It's highly recommended for beginners. Don't be scared of the name. It's a quality resource for mandolin, it has some great chords/instruction to get you rolling quick.

You're on the right track for online lessons. I have done artistworks and recently got a free month on peghead nation to Joe Walsh's lessons (didn't continue, as I didn't think their was enough content/value to pay monthly). I might sway towards Mike Marshall's lessons on artist works if I had to choose, the video exchange would be valuable and help with technique-like things. Either one of those options will keep you busy for a couple of months, then you'll likely move on.