Thread: Inexpensive starter instrument

Default Inexpensive starter instrument

I just bought a mandolin on the internet. I am totally new to mandolins, and at 80 years old I now regret having waited so long. Don't laugh but I bought the least expensive one I could get as I figured it would teach me what to look for in an upgrade. I know of no one else who plays one. Well for $58 US I got an IRIN boxwood veneer instrument, and after a few tweaks I am delighted with it. Main problem was uneven frets, but I resisted filing them down and I was able to reset them using a hammer and a flat punch. Now the intonation is as near perfect as my untrained ears can tell. In short I am finding it an ideal starter instrument. I consider it inexpensive, but the finish and quality are far from cheap. I welcome comments. What should I be looking for next. I don't know of anyone else who plays this instrument to ask for advice.

Default Re: Inexpensive starter instrument

Quote Originally Posted by kennaitchem View Post
    What should I be looking for next.
    Your next mandolin, nobody stops at one.

Welcome to the fray.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

Default Re: Inexpensive starter instrument

Quote Originally Posted by kennaitchem View Post
    What should I be looking for next. I don't know of anyone else who plays this instrument to ask for advice.
    Well, you're the first person to ever ask this question, ever... in the last hour . So there's a wealth of threads in the search engine in the upper right corner. This was my collection of links: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...=1#post1476330

tl;dr is Eastman, Kentucky, JBovier, Breedlove, Morris or "The Loar" or a flattop or see what floats by on craigslist or your local shops in your price range (it's possible you don't have any local shops)