Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Truss Rod - Needed or Not Needed?

Default Truss Rod - Needed or Not Needed?

With such a short neck on mandolins is there really a need for a truss rod? Does it really serve a useful purpose on such a short neck instrument? Thanks for any information.

Default Re: Truss Rod - Needed or Not Needed?

I've seen some old ones without so I guess they can do without but I feel better with one. There's an awful lot of tension on those necks.
    Last edited by Roger Moss; May-05-2016 at 10:56pm. Reason: Addition

The thing about routing out a channel for a truss rod is - you weaken the neck making it more likely you'll need to adjust the truss rod. There is no truss rod in my Morris F4, or my Cricket fiddle 10 string mandola, 21" OM or 26" 10 string 'cello. All of these have solid steel reinforcement which actually strengthens the neck.

As a mechanical engineer, I prefer a stronger neck that resists bending (aka higher moment of inertia) to a weaker neck with a limited means to compensate for the additional weakness.

As a musician with over 40 years playing lots of stringed instruments, the number of times I've adjusted or felt the need to adjust a truss rod is - zero.

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mandobart For This Useful Post:

I've been playing a 1921 F4 for maybe 40 years with no problems with the neck, and no trussrod. I don't use heavy gauge strings. Also have a Lyon & Healy mandolin with no trussrod, running light strings.

There's a fair amount of wood in the pre-trussrod era Gibsons. I don't think they have much of a problem, but then again, it's possible that the ones with problems were weeded out by attrition a lifetime or so ago.

Running heavy strings on a bluegrass mandolin with the 15th-fret neck-to-body joint might be a different story, of course.