Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: tenor or new standard tuning

Default tenor or new standard tuning

i've been a guitarist for, oh, 40 years. since starting the mandolin and fiddle a few years ago, guitar is less and less of an interest to me.

since it's in fifths, i'm considering a tenor guitar.

my situation doesn't allow, well lets just say money is extremely tight and i'd have to sell my guitar to get the tenor. it's a really nice guild.

but, then i thought about tuning it in fifths and found out that a lot of people do that and call it 'new standard tuning' cgdaeb.

my question is, has anyone done this? does it work well? (ok, that was two questions) changing strings to gauges that would handle that is inexpensive. should i give that tuning a try, or just get a tenor and sell this one? (yes, another question)

thank you in advance,

jim

1935 Gibson A-1 Wide mandolin
    Late 1800's Unbranded German fiddle

2. The following members say thank you to fentonjames for this post:

mandolin slinger Steve Ostrander's Avatar

Default Re: tenor or new standard tuning

I don't know what you're budget is, but I bought a new Blueridge BR40T for less than $400. I tuned it GDAE (mandolin) and had it set up after changing strings. It's fun to play but it doesn't replace the mandolin.
    Living’ in the Mitten

Blog Entries

I think what you will find is that it becomes very difficult to play like a tenor.

A guitar is tuned in forths, making one finger per fret convenient in that the next string is about a hand span away. Tuning in fifths will really mess with this.

My tenor guitar did not have frets spaced as far apart as a standard guitar, and so I could use diatonic fingering (one finger for two frets as on a mandolin), which makes sense for fifth tuned instruments, in that the next string is roughly a hand span away.

Of course if you predominantly play chords I guess this doesn't matter as much.