Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Science of Sound?

Default Science of Sound?

Having played my new mandolin every day for the past month I'm noticing a change in the tone, for the better I might add. I'm no science expert but I find it hard to believe this change is due to something other than a number of factors which are mainly down to my improved technique, ability to find the sweet spots and familiarity with the instrument.

I was just wondering if anybody can explain to me any other proven factors that might be at work here?

I know for certain that different picks have a marked effect on the sound I'm producing and after experimenting with dozens of different ones the pick that produces the best sound (to my ears) is the Jim Dunlop Nylon .88 which is my regular guitar pick. It makes my mandolin sing and produces a loud and clear tone whilst all the others appear to soften and mute the overall tone. I can understand why different picks and strings will produce a different tone but find it difficult to believe there's some kind of alchemy that takes place to the mandolin itself.

Any experts out there that can shed some light on this?

Keith

Default Re: Science of Sound?

3. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to lenf12 For This Useful Post:

poor excuse for anything Charlieshafer's Avatar