Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A style vs F style performance

Default A style vs F style performance

Hello everyone! I am new to mandolin café and to the mandolin in general. I recently purchased my first mandolin, a cheap Savannah A style. It has been great to learn on so far.
    I have played guitar for years now, and have always wanted to play mandolin.
    Anyway, I will get to the point of my thread.

As far as appearance goes, I like the look of the F style body much more than the A style. My question to everyone is this:

Does the body style make a significant difference in the performance of the instrument? And if so, what is your personal preference?

If the sound quality and playability are similar, I would much prefer to own an F style.

Thanks ahead of time for your responses!

Trevor

Default Re: A style vs F style performance

Trevor, welcome to the fabulous Mandolin Cafe community. The topic of your question happens to be one of the most discussed topics, probably over the history of the Cafe. You'll hear many variations of the theme, and nuanced opinions, but I think it's the general consensus (among a billion posts) is that performance and sound are effectively the same, the quality of the build otherwise equal, and that it comes down to aesthetic taste, and for many folks, price. Happy hunting.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Luna Pick For This Useful Post:

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries

As stated this is a common but anticipated question from new players.
    The costs associated with building an F style is significantly more than building an A Style due primarily to the additional time an F style takes to build. So if you are looking for tone and quality, put your money into an A style (unless of course money is of no concern). Simply put, "More bang for the Buck".
    Personally, and many may disagree, I feel the purchase of an F style is for other people's eyes as you quickly adjust to a quality A style.