Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jamming nerves!

Default Jamming nerves!

Hey all!

I've been playing mandolin for about 2 1/2 years now, doing lessons for a lot of that time, and going to as many jams as I can. But unfortunately, where I live, there aren't many jams at all, they're more like an occasional treat than a regular thing where I can practise and get used to them.

I know that the best way to improve my soloing with other people (as my rhythm's fairly solid by now), and to learn how to improvise breaks (my main goal at the moment) is to just get in there and get playing with people, so I do. But playing with people who are much better than me often makes me really nervous, or playing at a speed I'm not used to throws me off, and so I rarely end up with a break I'm happy with. I laugh it off, but it does really knock my confidence - I'm starting to worry that I'm never going to reach the level I want to be at!

Have you guys got any tips for playing through the nerves, or things I could be doing on my own to improve my playing in jams?

Thanks in advance, I'm pretty new here (or at least new to posting!) so any advice you can give will be appreciated! Cheers!

Blog Entries

Default Re: Jamming nerves!

Backing tracks are the closest thing to do-it-yourself jam practice for me. That and plenty of reps.

Do your best to network and find a guitar player that you can jam with on the side. There's no substitute for playing with others.

As far as nerves - I'm at 3 years and playing with a small jam group since last August. Played at a new-for-me jam the other week and first break I almost lost my pick from nerves.

But it gets better every time out. Albeit slowly

3. The following members say thank you to Mark Wilson for this post:

Blog Entries