Thread: string gauges

Default string gauges

Hi. I'm new to tenor guitars, having picked up a no-name a few months back. I just tried the D'Addario J66 tenor guitar strings. Those seem designed for CGDA tuning, and I'm using GDAE tuning. They turn out to be really buzzy when played, but I liked that they were really easy to play, although that made me try and bend them all the time. I also had to angle my floating bridge more for intonation. Does that sound like symptoms of strings that are too narrow? I'm not sure where the buzzing was happening, by the way. More on chords, rather than single not picking. The J66 set is .032 (G), .022(D), .014(A), and .010(E)

The previous string set was made of individual strings, probably from advice from here. They were .046 (G), .030(D), .020(A), and .013(E). Those were fine, but for playability, I might like to go lighter, after my experiment with the J66 strings. Does someone have advice on what gauges I should maybe try? Should I just shoot for somewhere between the two sets and experiment?

Thanks in advance, and I know I will have a couple questions on chording choices coming up.

Guernsey... small island just off the coast of France

Default Re: string gauges

One of my favourite subjects
    Firstly you do not mention the scale length of your guitar or the model?
    I don't believe there is going to be one set of strings that suits everyone however I would initially start off using a set where every string is as close to 20lb of tension as possible & then adapt to the individual instrument.
    You mention that you previously used 46 30 20 13p. (GDAE)
    On a 23" scale tenor guitar, those strings will each be close to 20lb of tension but, you would like a little less tension so ... try 45w 30w 17w 12p that is what I use on my less heavily braced 23" scale guitars.
    I have tried 42w & 28w but they do not work well for me on my guitars but of course you could try them yourself.