Thread: Sinking Soundboards Revisited

Default Sinking Soundboards Revisited

Hi, I’m a new member. I’m a guitarist whose son is a mandolinist. Being quite handy, my basic guitar luthiery has carried over into a 1919 Gibson Model A mandolin whose soundboard is sinking. The epicenter of this crater is approximately under the pedestal on the treble side of the bridge. I’ve spent hours researching this phenomenon. I’ve also read a number of threads on the subject here at the café so I thought I’d share my findings/opinions with the members.

Short of removing the back of the mandolin, I felt that a support post just might help. However, the collective opinion is that nothing you can do to an old Gibson will support the sinkhole without affecting the tone. Yet, I feel that the tone is already compromised because you now have a concave depression adjacent to the sound hole on an otherwise convex soundboard. Worse, this instrument is more difficult to tune because the sinkhole lacks a “ground zero” and behaves like a trampoline or a cheap guitar tremolo. I felt I had nothing to lose.

I decided to try installing a support post through the sound hole. This is like asking a proctologist to diagnose a sore throat from his end. It took me about two hours to brainstorm and make the homemade tools I would need and about fifteen seconds to put the post in place once the tools were built. The post consists of an approximate 2” length of ¼” dowel with a ¾” square cap and pedestal made of 1/8” plywood. The end caps were attached to the dowel using a short brad, into pre-drilled holes. I allowed some flex here so that the end caps could self-level against the top and back of the mandolin. No glue was used.