Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tennis Elbow and Mandolin Pickin'?

Default Tennis Elbow and Mandolin Pickin'?

I've been struggling with Tennis Elbow and playing mandolin seems to agitate it. I literally stopped playing for 10 weeks and it got much better. The injury was sustained from sporting activities. However it is on the mends but just light playing inflames it. Has anyone out there dealt with this type of injury? If so, how did you manage to play? What therapeutic activities did you do? Stretching? Strengthening? Thanks all!
    2007 Weber Yellowstone HT
    Pava A4 Oval #183

Default Re: Tennis Elbow and Mandolin Pickin'?

I feel your pain on this one. I'm a retired firefighter/paramedic and tore up my shoulder and elbow pretty bad a couple of times on the job. had a house blow up on me and I ended up in the basement (started halfway up the stairs to the second floor) and tore things up a second time in a water rescue. At the time I was playing primarily electric guitar and trumpet/flugelhorn. Playing guitar sucked and horn wasn't much better since you have to hold your hand up above shoulder level all damned night. That's when I finally started to play with as little tension as possible. That much I'm sure you figured out already. Things started to turn around for me when I told my PT about playing guitar. She was a little Chinese girl and started me on tai chi. The stretching and working through as much range of motion as I could manage really made things easier. I still don't have full range of motion out of my right arm, but I'm better than 95% of my left.

I struggled with this for 10 months, went to a good and I mean good chiropractor, a different one than I had been seeing during the ten months, and he said, " oh you have a rib out" put the rib in place and pain gone and never came back.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

Blog Entries

Back when I began to practice seriously about two years in, I began to suffer from tennis elbow.